The Caveats of my Forgiveness

I’ve been through a lot in my few years. Heartache. Healing. Growth. Part of me is astounded to think back on my life — my approach to life — even just a few years ago and realize how much I’ve changed. Mostly I’m terrified because I know that there’s so much more where that all came from. I’m nowhere near finished becoming figuring out the me I want to be…

But every now and then a memory from a younger version of me will surface within the context of all that the present me knows, and it can be quite liberating. 

For example, usually I feel pretty guilty if I can’t bring myself to forgive someone for causing me pain. Pragmatically, I’ll say that’s because I know holding a grudge will only serve to embitter my heart, not only towards that person, but towards myself and others as well. Realistically, I know it’s because I have tended to be a doormat.

Well, tonight a flashback of an emotionally raw moment that tore me to shreds and signaled the end to one of my most cherished relationships came roaring unbidden into the forefront of my mind, delivering an unexpected, albeit inspired thought: I don’t need to forgive that person.

Ever since that incident, I have poured my energy into 2 things: moving on and forgiving something they said that was simply false and hurtful.

Where the first part is a struggle, the second has felt impossible. And tonight I realized why: They never apologized. Not just that, they adamantly refused to apologize.

I believe in forgiveness; I believe it has the power to heal. I also have learned it’s a choice. Now, the new me is coming to realize that sometimes it’s ok to choose to not forgive. Sometimes the pain is too great, the betrayal so breathtaking, it requires your all just to move on.

And that’s fine because eventually, moving on brings healing in its own right.

4 comments

  1. […] The Caveats of My Forgiveness […]

  2. […] A Day in the Life of a Yogi in India 10 Things to Get You Through 32 Hours of Traveling 2. Fabulously Disheveled Amy Wray is a lifestyle and fashion editor, writer, and personal blogger. She’s hip to all things pop culture and loves champagne, chihuahuas, and reality tv.   Swimsuits in Every Size That Are Pool Party Perfect Trend: Statement Ankle 3. Like I Said… Tamara “T” Braunstein is a journalist and writer by training and passion, currently working for a PR firm in Chicago, IL. A native of Seattle, WA, she adores the West Coast and thrives on adventure, the outdoors, and contemplating and writing about life, in all of its shame and glory. Death of a Friend The Caveats of My Forgiveness […]

  3. […] though, I’ve realized that I can be brave. Leaving a damaging, unhealthy relationship was brave. It was brave to quit my job because I felt like I was getting paid (barely) to be a […]

Leave a Reply

