Why I love Common.

He raps about stuff that matters. This moved me to tears: 


Took by silence, emotion stood still
I could feel, her tears spill, from her grille
Hurt from before that began to build
She told me hold me, a story she assembled it
Tellin’ it, trying not to remember it
It was a story of innocence taken
Thought she could redeem, through love makin’
When she was eight she was raped by her father
And tried to escape through multiple sex partners
Felt pitiful, she had only learned,
To love through the physical, inside it burned
My heart turned, I thought of what this man did
She forgave him, she grew to understand it
Her soul was tired and never really rested
Only with men through aggression
Said it was a blessing and it happened for a reason
By speaking it, she found freedom
Between me and you

“The way to love anything is to realize that it may be lost.” — G.K. Chesterton

One comment

  1. That’s some powerful s##%%t

Leave a Reply

