My First Pinterest Success: Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries

For the annual Memorial Day cookout at my mom’s place last weekend, I decided to contribute something more than just cleaning the house, mostly because I was in the mood for experimenting after aimlessly browsing Pinterest for a good 30 minutes.

Knowing that I tend to be somewhat of a disaster in the kitchen, I decided to try the easiest thing I found: Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries.

In a nutshell, here’s how it went:

Overall difficulty: EASY
Prep time: 20 min.
Guest satisfaction: Begging for more

The hardest, most time-consuming part was “gutting” the strawberries. I figured out the hard way that it helps to hold the knife at an acute angle while cutting around the green stem to keep the hole narrow and deep. The wider the opening at the top of the strawberry, the higher the risk of the frosting spilling out.

Beating together 1 package (8 oz) softened cream cheese with powdered sugar, vanilla and lemon extract: EASY

The recipe I followed says to use between 1/4 cup and 1/2 cup powdered sugar in the cheesecake mix, depending on how sweet you want it. I decided to start with 1/3 cup, but thought it was too sweet. Mom had the brilliant idea to add a drop or two of lemon juice, which of course made it perfect.

The original recipe says that the frosting mix will work for 1 pound of strawberries (1 regular sized package from the grocery store). I used it for 2 pounds and still had some leftover.

Next came the part that I feared would potentially be the messiest: using a sandwich baggie as a frosting piper. Turns out, it was a breeze, and quite convenient.

I sprinkled the crumbs on all the stuffed berries; dipping them in the crumbs is apparently also an option, but the cheesecake seemed too warm and likely to spill out.

 

 

 

And finally, I painstakingly (not so much) piped the frosting into each strawberry, finishing off by sprinkling some “handmade” graham cracker crumbs (Cuisinart is awesome) and refrigerating until the guests arrived. They were the first desert to disappear from the table 🙂

One comment

  1. They were delicious! One little guest admitted to eating 7 all by herself 🙂

Leave a Reply

