Making Progress

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m working on a re-design for my blog. Eventually I’ll upgrade to my own hosting and have have more editing capabilities for the CSS, but for now, I’ve been working my way around the limitations that come with the free version of WordPress by getting creative with Photoshop. It’s really fun because I’m starting to like design work more and more, but at the same time it’s frustrating because the whole process is trial and error. I guess it’s a good thing that tends to be my most effective learning style.

Anyway, here’s the gist of what I’ve got going on: I switched themes from Koi to Coraline and I designed my own background. The basic idea is the images map out how I’ve gotten to where I am today. Using Google Maps, I laid out the trek from Seattle to D.C. via Pittsburgh and Jersey. I browsed some images to lay over the map and then just played around from there to get the current result.

I wanted to be able to see the background (at least a little bit) through the header, so instead of trying to create a fancy design or use images there, I just upgraded the tag line to include my idea from the last post, and voila.

Most likely I’ll continue to make minor changes and adjustments until I decide to stop being cheap and pay for access to the theme’s CSS editor. In the meantime, feel free to give me feedback, tips, whatever. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

