Gossip, Tunes and Zombies: Brainstorming for my Blog

It’s become painfully obvious to me that it’s time for me to update my blog. Truth be told, I was never the best at regularly maintaining a blog, even when my grade depended on it. But now that my career (ooh, I like the sound of that) has taken me through some unexpected, yet surprisingly enjoyable twists and turns, I am actually looking forward to accepting my fate as a Millenial, and all the tech savvy-ness that entails.

That being said, I still have a lot of work to do. I don’t read blogs nearly as much as some might expect. It’s most likely that I don’t read them unless it’s beneficial (or imperative) to the job at hand. As it stands, the only blogs I currently “follow” are Huffington Post (general news), The Onion (daily hilarity), and Cucina Amanda (good friend). Oh, and The Root and GOOD (but that’s more like a magazine).

So, all that to say, when I realized it was time to update my blog — thanks in large part to the continual prodding of various colleagues, friends and family members — I was quickly faced with the obstacle of not knowing what in the world to write about. Luckily, I know about more blogs than I follow, so I hit up Technorati to determine what some of the most popular topics out there are (see headline), and therefore from what to steer clear. I may be slow on the uptake, but I’m quick enough to recognize that I am in no way, shape or form going to compete with the thousands of other self-proclaimed experts on any of the topics in the Top 100 list.

While discussing my predicament with a colleague, he suggested I write about what it’s like to be an ‘outsider’ working on K Street. He put it much more eloquently, and I think it’s a great idea that I might weave in here and there … but it doesn’t appeal to me for my overall theme. For now, living and working in D.C. is enough; I don’t care to spend my precious few spare moments writing about a city that more often than not confuses and exasperates me.

So, long-story short (not so much), here’s what I’ve decided: From here on out, this blog will be a blend of what I consider to be the two most prominent aspects of my personality: passion and curiosity. (Hey maybe I should change my tagline?! How does ‘where passion meets curiosity’ sound? yes…I’ll let that marinate overnight and come back to it tomorrow)

You may be wondering, “Huh? What does that even mean? What will you be writing about?” Well, that’s the beauty of it: anything I want! But it won’t just be another narcissistic blog all about me (hopefully).  Nothing about how awful/amazing my day was or how I’m so starving/stuffed from I did/did not eat all day. (That’s what Twitter and Facebook are for.) No, no, no. I intend to use this blog as a self-motivational tool (NERD ALERT!).  Instead of day-dreaming all day about something I don’t have, I’m going to turn that desire into a learning experience.

For instance, just the other day I was thinking “man, I really need a vacation. There are so many places I want to go, what am I doing stuck in this office?!” Well, forget that dreamer’s nonsense; next time I’m doing the research and blogging about it. {One place I’ve wanted to visit for years is Belize. So, don’t be surprised if some day soon I come up with a blog post all about what’s awesome in Belize, the best sources of info on the country (including local bloggers), what to eat (because all posts must include something about food), etc.}

I’m officially pumped, but now I need to focus on sleep. And redesigning this blog. Because I can’t possibly in good conscience give myself a rejuvenated blogger spirit with the same old worn out theme.

Until next time (soon!)

One comment

  1. […] Skip to content HomeBioResumeArticles ← Gossip, Tunes and Zombies: Brainstorming for my Blog […]

Leave a Reply

