Act on New Attitudes, Especially Confidence

Obviously, I need to work on updating my blog more often. I wrote a similar blog on the Observer’s site today, and promptly changed the topic for that blog. No longer will I be highlighting my endeavors around D.C…least of all because they tend to cater to night life, which is a trend in my social life that I have mixed feelings about. Now, my blog will be more of an advice blog, for friends and readers to ask me ANYTHING!

Aside from the more personal anecdotes, I’m hoping to start using my blogs — especially this one — to highlight the frustrations and triumphs as I grow my talents and strive for my dreams.

Along those lines, today marked an interesting change in mood for me. I was the managing editor for the Observer’s publication, and it was not at all what I expected. Last week, as news editor, I was scared, unsure and dreading the bump up to main (wo)man status. But being in charge of today’s production I realized something: I can do anything I want to do, and anything I try to do. Even if I have to ask for help, I’m still figuring out how to get something done. As a result of this revelation, I’m feeling grounded, secure in my decision (maybe I should’ve felt these things coming in to the program, but late than never, right?), and excited about my future possibilities. Maybe I exploited my new excitement a little too much too soon, by suddenly going after the biggest story I’ve had in my head (which necessitates talking to celebrities, if it’s going to be successful)…but we’ll see how it turns out. The worst thing that can happen is they say “no,” in which case I get a new story and move on. Harmless.

Leave a Reply

