News Nerds in the Making

It’s official: bootcamp is brainwashing me. It’s a struggle for me to view and approach the world in the way I did a week and a half ago, however that was. Even simple, basically brainless tasks – like watching a movie – scream out examples of multimedia usage or reminders to keep a clip file of story ideas.

I saw “Julie & Julia” tonight; the movie was exactly what’s it meant to be: entertaining. However, more than once I caught myself thinking about the mechanics behind the acting and the script. One scene, for example, uses audio layering and a simple screen shot of the telephone/answering machine to create an awesome sense of accomplishment and pride on behalf of one of the main characters. Maybe it’s because we’ve just spent an entire day learning about the basics of audio recording and editing, but how nerdy am I for even thinking about that? Compared to my pre-bootcamp days, when I would’ve been completely involved with, yet unaware of my developing a connection with the character – and not just because we’re both “bloggers.”

Speaking of audio and blogging, today we had an interesting time with our speaker, journalist Deborah Bolling. Even though the syllabus says she was supposed to speak on “audio storytelling,” a lot of what she said touched on everything we’ve covered already (multimedia, ethics, persistance, etc.). But she was PASSIONATE. And she didn’t sugar coat anything. Not to say that other speakers glamorized the news, but her approach was different, and morbidly refreshing. She flat out told us “this is a brutal business…bad news is good news in the news room,” but at the same time “accuracy is crazy critical”  and “you go into journalism because you are a living, breathing, walking historian.” Maybe we didn’t need to hear it quite like that…but maybe we did? I guess I better quit losing things (like my usb link for my camera) if I plan on being an accurate historian, ready for the bad/good news. In the meantime, pictures are yet to come.

One comment

  1. I like how you’re finding the connections between the classroom and the outside world. NIcely done.

Leave a Reply

